Society Seminar Series

Periodic online meetings on various topics of interest to the System Dynamics Community

Free for Members

Join Now

FISH BANKS - now accepting Wait List registrations only

Thursday, October 29th, 10am New York, 2pm London, 10pm Beijing

by Jason Jay,  Senior Lecturer and Director of the Sustainability Initiative at the MIT Sloan School of Management

Join us online to experience this classic web-based simulation developed by Dennis Meadows. Participants in this participatory game will manage their own fishing companies as they compete with others to achieve a profitable venture.  Together team players will strategize about buying and selling ships, where to fish, how best to manage fleets without depleting fish stocks all while in competition with neighboring teams.

ONLINE HACKS FOR THE SYSTEMS THINKING PLAYBOOK GAMES: A COMMUNITY CONVERSATION

ONLINE, Thursday, November 12th, 11am New York, 4pm London, Friday, November 13th, 12am Beijing

by Linda Booth Sweeney, 

Linda Booth Sweeney, co-author of The Systems Thinking Playbook  and The Climate Change Playbook will share ways to adapt short gaming exercises that illustrate the subtleties of systems thinking to a new online world. Participants are encouraged to share their methods for bringing these games and others online.


COMING SOON

ADAPTING GROUP MODELING WORK TO COVID REALITIES

by Jason Jay, 

Fellow practitioners share their favorite techniques, tools and theory for moving your group modeling work online in these interactive meetings.

 


PAST SEMINARS 

THE BEER GAME

Thursday, August 6, 2020

by John Sterman (MIT) and Michael Bean (Forio)
This quintessential board game is now available online in a format that allows multi-player use just like in the classroom.  See how it works!
Society Members may view the recorded session!
 
 

TELLING STORIES TO SPARK CHANGE

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

by David Hutchens

The author of Tip of the Iceberg will share some key insights around organizational storytelling - content brought to the likes of Harvard Business Review, L'Oreal, Accenture and Paypal.