Dana Meadows Student Paper Award Endowment Fund Drive

In September 2004, an ad hoc group consisting of Drew Jones, John Morecroft, Mike Radzicki, Roberta Spencer, and John Sterman proposed the creation of an endowment fund for the Dana Meadows Student Paper Award. As you know, the Award has been funded up to now through the generosity of Jane and Allen Boorstein. After thorough discussions with the Society President, Treasurer, the Boorsteins, and other key members of the Society, a formal proposal was made to the Policy Council, which unanimously approved the creation of the endowment fund drive in October 2004, with a goal of $60,000. We raised $30,000 in pledges for the matching program, in which donations by members of the Society, and others, are matched 100%. The campaign was announced in the October Newsletter, through the SD listserve, and on the Society website: www.systemdynamics.org/Awards/DMA/DMSAEFD.htm. JS also personally called on many individuals. We are pleased to report that the campaign has been a resounding success. As of January 11, 2005, a total of $57,385.74 has been donated or pledged. Many members of the Policy Council gave generously, and for this support we are most grateful. An alphabetical list of donors is printed below.

Further donations are of course welcome. The link to the contribution form is www.systemdynamics.org/newsletters/Oct04newsletters/HTMLPrintForm.htm and the form is also included below. If the remaining $2,614.26 is not raised before the 2005 conference, we plan to publicize the campaign in Boston and hope that donations made by participants at the conference will put us over the top, enabling us to announce that we have met our goal when the 2005 awards are presented.

We thank the Policy Council for its support in this important project, along with the members of the ad hoc proposal group, and, of course, the donors. We are particularly grateful to Jane and Allen Boorstein, who not only funded the award from its inception, but also have donated $10,000 to the endowment fund.

Thank you all.    

John Sterman, Roberta Spencer

Dana Meadows Student Award Endowment Fund Drive    List of Donors As of January 11, 2005

Anonymous Donor George Backus John E. Butler Bob Cavana
Brian Dangerfield Ernst Diehl Bill Dunbar Pascal Duport
Bob Eberlein Keith Eubanks Tom Fiddaman David N. Ford
Andy Ford Jay Forrest Jay W. Forrester David Gillespie
Jose J. Gonzalez Jack Homer Michael Hottinger Bill Isaacs
Drew Jones Christian E. Kampmann Michel Karsky Elizabeth Keating
Daniel Kim Miroljub Kljajic Hironori Kurono David Lane
Jim and Deb Lyneis Dennis Meadows Bobby Milstein John Morecroft
Erling Moxnes Roger Naill Operational Research Society (UK) Mark Paich
Ken Parsons Mike Radzicki Hazhir Rahmandad Nelson Repenning
George Richardson John Richardson Scott Rockart Khalid Saeed
Raymond H. and Marlene W. Schneider Peter and Diane Senge Don Seville Masud Sheikh
Roberta Spencer William Steinhurst John Sterman Sustainability Institute
Linda Booth Sweeney John Voyer Stephen Wehrenberg Erich Zahn

Dana Meadows Student Paper Award Endowment Fund Drive

Please print this form, fill in and mail or fax it to the System Dynamics Society at the address below.

I enclose my contribution to the Dana Meadows Student Award Endowment Fund of the System Dynamics Society in the amount of:









I enclose my check (US$ drawn on a US bank, please)


Credit Card:











American Express
















Postal Address:



Country/ Postal Code:

Email address:


Check here for this contribution to be anonymous.

The System Dynamics Society is a not-for-profit 501 (c3) corporation and all contributions to the endowment fund are fully tax deductible in the United States.

Please send your contribution information to:

Roberta Spencer
System Dynamics Society

Milne 300 Rockefeller College, University at Albany
135 Western Avenue
Albany, NY 12222 USA

Email: [email protected]

Note: The first $30,000 in contributions will be fully matched, doubling the value of your gift.